Scots Trad Music Awards 2011 – Voting Open

Scots Trad Music Awards

Yesterday the shortlist was announced for this year’s MG ALBA Scots Trad Music Awards and voting across 16 categories including Album Of The Year, Live Act of the Year, Gaelic Singer Of The Year, Composer Of The Year, Venue Of The Year and Event of the Year is now open to the public. Voting closes on 18th November 2011 and all winners will be announced at a ceremony and gala concert hosted by Mary Ann Kennedy and Tony Kearney, with Julie Fowlis conducting backstage interviews, on Saturday 3rd December 2011 at Perth Concert Hall.

2011 is the ninth year of the annual event which celebrates the achievements of Scotland’s traditional musicians and those working to promote Scottish music.
Click here to vote online. A full list of the nominees can be seen here.

Event founder and promoter Simon Thoumire said: “This has been a particularly strong year for traditional music in Scotland and the thousands of nominations we’ve received reflect that. We think the shortlist is the most eclectic to date and we’ll be as excited as anyone else to see who the public choose as the winner in each category.”

To buy tickets to the event, call Perth Concert Hall box office on 01738 621 031 or visit their website. The full line-up for the gala concert includes: Peatbog Faeries, Skerryvore, Paul McKenna Band, Barbara Dickson Band, Salsa Celtica, Cathy Ann MacPhee, Alasdair Fraser and Natalie Haas, Joe Aitken/Geordie Muriston/Scott Gardiner, Feis Rois 25th Anniversary, Kristan Harvey Band, Rura and the National Youth Pipe Band of Scotland.